top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbbey

Homemade Pizza Recipe Guide


I have been working on finding the best way to make a homemade pizza. It is still a work in progress so I'll be updating as we go.

I wrote an article detailing the easiest way to make a homemade pizza here, but I've been working on making a really good pizza that is a little more involved. It's still pretty easy and cheap though. In fact, when all is said and done it will probably be cheaper to make everything yourself.

 

So far I found a great pizza sauce recipe here. So thank you Wazatron for all your hard work and sharing it with us! This is the recipe I currently use on all of my pizzas no matter the style.

Mix/whisk together before hand and let sit overnight. Do not cook. • 1 6oz can tomato paste (Contadina seems to be the best if you can get it) • 9/10 can water (same size can) • 3/4 tsp table sugar • 1/2 tsp table salt • 1/2 tsp basil

I started collecting glass jars about a year ago and this is a great use for them. Just throw all the ingredients into the jar, stir with a spatula or spoon or just shake the jar until smooth. Let it sit overnight if you can (refrigerate), but I've used it the same day and it was still good. You can also make it ahead of time for whenever you feel like whipping a pizza out. I always have a batch ready.

 

Dough Options

Easiest

The easiest solution is outlined in my post Homemade Pizza: the quick and easy way. It can be as simple as using frozen rolls, but it is not actually pizza dough per se.

 

Artisan

I recently found this recipe to make artisan pizza dough. It's one of the most involved recipes I've ever tried, but after a couple tries it's not too hard.

Check out the post

*This takes at least 1 day of pre-planning.

 

Thin Crust

I'm working on finding a suitable thin crust to mimic my favourite pizza chain. Will update as it develops.

 

Pan Pizza

I've been looking into making trying out some pan pizza techniques, but I don't have a cast iron skillet which is what this technique seems to call for. Will update as it develops.

 

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page